Literary Graveyard: Which Cemetery is the Most Literary?

Found this on Twitter. What an interesting article.

I have an inexplicable attraction to cemeteries. It’s weird. Spiritually I know they’re useless–the body is only a vessel for the spirit and the soul. And if I’m going to mourn someone, I’m not going to go visit their final “resting place,” because their spirit never spent any time there while it was in the body, so why would I have any connection to a place they have no connection to? Doesn’t make sense.

But there are people out there that are very committed to gravesites. And I suppose that’s why I like them. Not that think that a cemetery is the **most* appropriate memorial, but it is nice that people take so much time to upkeep and decorate. Shows, in a way, how much someone was missed.

Back to the author topic, I think I may have to design a European tour around famous cemeteries. And then an author cemetery tour. Sweet.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by jennifermeaton on September 7, 2011 - 9:22 pm

    Yeah, but you will make everyone on the tour run a marathon from one cemetery to the other, won’t ‘cha!. Here’s a dozen more residents because they couldn’t keep up with you!

    • #2 by thegetoutgirl on September 13, 2011 - 4:26 pm

      THAT, Jennifer, is an awesome idea! haha. Maybe not a marathon, that’s really far. LOL

  2. #3 by Marie Gilbert on September 25, 2011 - 10:24 am

    I love visiting old cemeteries. My father when we were young, would take us to visit our grandparents graves, and he would pack a small lunch, and bring folding chairs. We would spend at least two hours, at the site. While my parents, aunts and uncles sat and talked about the good memories of the person they were visiting, we kids explored the cemetery looking for the most unusual tombstones. The tradition of spending time at gravesites is apparently a european custom, but it may also go back to Egyptian times. When I taught the mummy class, I researched and found that families would often bring offerings of food and amulets to the burial place of their dead loved ones, several times a year.

    I love to walk through really old cemeteries and look at the names, how they died, etc. They do great cemetery tours in center city near the end of October. We should try to do this.

Leave a Reply

