Out & Back Party Run

I’m late, but this is really no surprise. Left work late & got stuck in the usual Friday evening traffic, which was warned about by the race organizer in several of the info emails. This was the 15th annual running of this race, with all proceeds going to the ALS Hope foundation. It’s four miles, starting at the Art Museum, curving back out West River Drive for two miles, then back for two miles, with a party at Lemon Hill afterward–beer and live music included. Terri Erbacher wanted to have a party, so off we went.

Having made it with only about 15 minutes to spare I had to rush to check in. Still a little clueless about the whole check-in thing. But I managed to get my number, t-shirt, and souvenir pilsner glass, find Christine & Terri, check my bag & even made it to the Honey Bucket with time to spare. I’m always amazed at how mobs can organize themselves. Did feel bad for the couple having their wedding photos taken at the Art Museum. Should have tried to photo bomb! I think I’m going to make that one of my goals for this year. Photo bomb everywhere possible.

The run was pretty good. I didn’t have music, having lost my phone (stupid), and Christine & I started out together but I lost her trying not to get trampled in the mass-chaos start. Settled into a rhythm and couldn’t believe the guy cheering at the first mile mark was really a whole mile. Second mile was boring, but pretty. Nice slow view of Boathouse Row & I paced myself with a couple of crew boats.

There were a variety of other runners. It definitely seemed to be a training race for some people, but others were quite fast–the first runners passed me coming back when I’d only hit a mile & a half. (“Don’t drink all the beer!” shouted one guy running my pace to the leader–who, honestly, didn’t look like he ever wasted calories on beer.) And there were some walkers too, even some little kids (I didn’t see any of them at the party afterward.)

I felt good running, not too tired. I’m just not a very fast runner. I realized though, between this race and the Broad Street Run two days later, that it’s not so much I’m pushing myself and getting out of breath. It’s my legs hurting that slows me up!! I did run intervals the last mile though. About 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off (well, storm drain to storm drain, anyway, which were extremely well marked, for some reason.) Still I felt great, and by the time I crossed the finish line at 53 minutes 44 seconds and walked to the water table, I was pretty much back to breathing normally again.

I’m a little confused at the time. That’s what the time was when I crossed the finish line, but I thought this was chip timed, meaning it would be the time when my bib crossed the finish line minus when it crossed the starting line. Maybe not. That was a 13.26 minute pace. I expect to have crossed a half marathon off my list by the time next year’s rolls around, so I’m going to shoot for a 12 minute pace — 48 minutes. Doesn’t sound like much, but after counting and averaging minutes after Broad Street, it’s a whole heck of a lot! šŸ™‚ But there are a lot of races between now & then, so who knows… šŸ™‚

The after party was neat, although it seemed to be the most random collection of post-race food: rolls (like white dinner rolls, just plain, no condiments like butter or peanut butter or anything!), bagels, cold tomato pie, soft pretzels. everything white flour that felt like a brick in my stomach. But we also discovered a few single cheese packs–what a freakin’ awesome idea–and some fruit snack things that were pretty awesome. Apparently we waited too long at the end. Note for next year: go straight to the party!

Next up, second race of the weekend…the Broad Street Run (10 miler! What was I thinking?)

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Marie Gilbert on October 18, 2011 - 10:45 am

    This is awesome, I’m proud of you.

  2. #3 by Jennifer M Eaton on October 18, 2011 - 9:06 pm

    Your posts always make me feel incredibly lazy. I’m amazed that you can do stuff like this. Good for you!

    • #4 by thegetoutgirl on October 21, 2011 - 6:18 pm

      LOL not at all! The runs are actually several months apart, but I’m lazy at blogging so I post them all together! LOL

      Enter our new South Jersey Writers’ Group Blogfests! šŸ™‚ I’m actually working on a second blog, that I’m going to use just for running!

  3. #5 by Marie Gilbert on October 19, 2011 - 7:55 pm

    Wow!!!

Leave a Reply

